The history of World Cup competitions in Kranj

If we wanted to glance in the background of organizing the World Cup competitions in Slovenia, we would need to look back to the year 1988. On the natural walls above the village of Osp, was back then the first sport climbing competition in Slovenia. The further development has been very exponential; an important step toward the World Cup competition was made in 1990, when for the first time in Kranj an international Master competition took place. Back then we decided to bring to Kranj and Slovenia the best climbers from all over the world. We were successful and their attendance at the Master convinced the world that we are able to organize competitions at the highest level.

After a few Masters, our aim was clear: the World Cup competition. In a new sport hall on Zlato Polje in Kranj, a new artificial climbing wall was built, which made an organization of such a high-level event feasible. In the fall of 1996 the first World Cup competition with 152 participants from 24 countries took place. The competition was a complete success. We received accolade for superb organization from the ICC and participating countries. Such acknowledgement has continued ever since.

Today we can fairly claim that the competition in Kranj is among the best in the World Cup at large. Numerous commentaries in foreign and Slovene media confirm this.

We may safely say that this has become a standard stop on the World Cup map. Only the two biggest Masters in the world – Serre Chevalier and Arco – have similar tradition. This year the World Cup competition in Kranj is taking place for the twenty-second time in a row. No other city has as many competitions as Kranj. We are proud when we hear from the teams from abroad that they consider their arrival to Kranj as something special. Thus we will put all of our efforts into hosting yet another memorable competition in Kranj.

Previous winners of Kranj:

1996 - Laurence Guyon (FRA) and Arnaud Petit (FRA)
1997 - Liv Sansoz (FRA) and Chris Sharma (ZDA)
1998 - Liv Sansoz (FRA) and Yuji Hirayama (JPN)
1999 - Liv Sansoz (FRA) and Eugeni Ovtchinnikov (RUS)
2000 - Liv Sansoz (FRA) and Yuji Hirayama (JPN)
2001 - Martina Čufar (SLO) and Tomas Mrazek (CZE)
2002 - Muriel Sarkany (BEL) and Ramon Julian Puigblanque (ESP)
2003 - Muriel Sarkany (BEL) and Ramon Julian Puigblanque (ESP)
2004 - Angela Eiter (AUT) and Tomas Mrazek (CZE)
2005 - Angela Eiter (AUT) and Flavio Crespi (ITA)
2006 - Maja Vidmar (SLO) and David Lama (AUT)
2007 - Maja Vidmar (SLO) and Cedric Lachat (SUI)
2008 - Johanna Ernst (AUT) and Klemen Bečan (SLO)
2009 - Mina Markovič (SLO) and Adam Ondra (CZE)
2010 - Jain Kim (KOR) and Ramon Julian Puigblanque (ESP)
2011 - Jain Kim (KOR) and Sean McColl (CAN)
2012 - Mina Markovič (SLO) and Jakob Schubert (AUT)
2013 - Momoka Oda (JPN) and Jakob Schubert (AUT)
2014 - Mina Markovič (SLO) and Adam Ondra (CZE)
2015 - Mina Markovič (SLO) and Adam Ondra (CZE)
2016 - Anak Verhoeven (BEL) and Sebastian Halenke (GER)
2017 - Janja Garnbret (SLO) and Jakob Schubert (AUT)
2018 - Jain Kim (KOR) and Stefano Ghisolfi (ITA)

Closing ceremony 2017

Kim Jain (JPN), Janja Garnbret SLO), Thompson- Smith (GBR)
Stanko Gruden

Alexander Megos (GER), Jakob Schubert (AUT), Dmitrii Fakirianov (RUS)
Stanko Gruden

Sponsors and partners